I wrote my own comics!

Anyone who’s known me for an extended period of time (whether in real life or through the posts in my blog) knows that I love writing. Putting words to paper and typing them through a screen has basically become my lifeblood.

Just as much as I love writing, it is no secret to everyone that I also love comics. That’s why this has to be most ecstatic I’ve ever been posting something on social media – simply put, I wrote comics! This explains my reason why I’ve been gone for so long here on the blog as I was busy making these comics, and let me tell you that it was one of the most fun experiences I’ve ever had in my life.

It was always a hobby of mine to write fiction. After discovering my first superhero comics when I was 12 years old, I soon branched out to making Batman fan fiction. I fell in love with the wonderful worlds of Marvel and DC and all their amazing heroes and villains. I could go on and on (and I probably will in another post!) with my admiration for them and their vast, complex web of interconnected stories, crossovers and continuities.

However, I could equally go on and on with how it felt like none of their comics mattered in the grand scheme of things. They would have reboots and retcons and endless reality-altering events all to preserve their characters’ status quo and immortality. My relationship with them was a double-edged sword to say the least. Unfortunately, this tug-of-war turned me into a cynic and I felt as if I had fallen out of love with comics as a whole. I even posted a blog entry here talking about that very same topic!

Now, I’ve gained a rejuvenated – newfound, even – appreciation for comics and I needed some maturity on my part. Upon getting the opportunity to make my own comics, I started to see them much more than a means of telling superhero adventures. I started to see comics as the intersection of prose and animation. I started to see them as a thing of beauty. I started to see them an art form.

It was quite a surreal experience making comics and definitely one of the most enjoyable times I have ever had in my life. To see these concepts, mere months ago just ideas born out of phone calls and chat exchanges, blossom into full pages of story and art. It’s just mind-blowing to me and I will never get over it. Every line I’ve said in my head nearly a thousand times. Every scene I’ve examined. Every panel I’ve analyzed. Never have I been this meticulous when it comes to anything and during it all, it was clear to me – I was making art.

I have received bylines before writing for the school paper and for websites. These ones for Komikon Creator Connect hit differently. It felt right to see my name presented this way and I couldn’t help but be giddy and ecstatic. I am still happy beyond belief. If only I could time travel and meet up with my young self to tell him “We made it”.

I want to thank my collaborators for giving me the chance to work with them, being as game as I am to bring these stories to life. I hope you enjoyed as much as I did and I can’t wait to make more projects with you guys.

Of course, I would also like to thank Komikon for the opportunity. For years, I was a consumer and a patron of the local komiks scene. Now, I am a contributor and a creator as well.

If I could write comics forever, believe me, I would.

But maybe, I don’t have to just dream about it anymore.

Maybe forever starts today.

Here are the two comics I wrote!

My comics are readable at this link until the end of December: https://penlab.ink/titles/komikon-creator-connect-anthology/
“Tim Delivers” is on Episode 4, and “A Day in the Sun” is on Episode 5


You can also follow my collaborators Nis (@piece_o_pepper) and Kim (@kannahkisaragi) on social media. Those usernames are their respective Instagram handles! Please expect more work from us in the future as we continue to do what we enjoy the most – telling stories!

Leave a comment